Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Thread: Am I crazy?

Am I crazy?

Hello everyone,

Although I am not a newbie stitcher, nor a newbie to the Golden Kite forum ( I've been a lurker for quite some time), its my first time posting to this board.

I have stitched for over 20 years and have always enjoyed larger projects, but, I do find myself sometimes getting bored doing the same works so I sometimes slack off and maybe will not stitch for months. Maybe if I worked like other people where they work on several projects at a time, I would be able to avoid getting bored. But I've tried the rotation system in the past and its just not for me.

Having said all that, I am in lovvvvvvve with the kit #2345 Children, challenge level 7. I have been ogling it for at least once a week for over 2 months! This would be my first Golden Kite pattern. It wouldn't be my first difficult pattern, nor my first with lots of blended colors, I have done many patterns from the now defunct Uncharted Territory site. But, those patterns are a third of the size I'm contemplating doing now.

Am I crazy? On average, how long do level 7 patterns take to complete? Wall space is not an issue, so even though the size 18 count pattern would be 127cm x 80 cm, if I do it on 16 count it would be a bit larger, but it would be easier, right? I've never worked on such a low count because I tend to prefer 28-30 count fabrics. I'm thinking a 16 count would be easier on my aging eyes, but then I'd also have more fabric to contend with. I usually work with a scroll frame, but sometimes I work by hand. Does a work this size have to be done on a scroll frame? Is it even possible to do it without a frame or a hoop? How do I manage so much fabric? Would I have to buy a new scroll frame and then where the heck do I store such a large frame? Oh dear, am I crazyyyyyyyyy? Helpppppppppp!

Monica

Images